2018 Compassion Award Nominations

Melissa Hopkins, RN, BA, CN-BN, FNCBC  2017 Winner

Each year Breast Friends honors an outstanding, compassionate person nominated by his or her colleagues, patients, and other members of the community. The award will be presented at our Survivor Luncheon on October 21st at the Lloyd Center DoubleTree in Portland, OR, 97232.

If you know someone in the community; a physician, a nurse, social worker or a community leader who consistently goes above the call of duty by demonstrating outstanding compassion to women with cancer, we want to know who they are. To nominate a deserving person, please fill out and submit the online nomination form below. Deadline to submit nomination: October 1, 2018

Compassion Award Nomination Form

  • Please include your nominee's email address if known.
  • (Patient, Colleague, Customer)
  • (In about 500 words or less)
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Past winners include:

2017 – Melissa Hopkins, RN, BA, CN-BN, FNCBC

2016 – Ken Weizer, ND, Providence Integrated Medicine

2015 – Jennifer Steen-Reavis, Nurse Navigator, Compass Oncology

2014 – Cindy Tortorelli, M.D., Diagnostic Radiologist – Epic Imaging

2013 – Dr. Judith Richmond, M.D.,Portland Physician and Surgeon Oregon Breast Center

2012 – Dr. Yale Popowich, Portland Physician and Surgeon

2011 – Kathy Wolf, B.S.N., R.N. – Breast Cancer Coordinator at Salem Cancer Institute.

2010 – Matt Ferguson, Liberty High School student – Matt’s Chemo Comfort Bags

2009 – Susan Hedlund, MSW, LCSW – Director of Social Services at Hospice & Palliative Care of Washington County

2008 – Nathalie Johnson, M.D. – Legacy Cancer Services


Updated: 6/19/2017

Categories: Oregon Events